Gunsmith and Police Department
Berenice Abbott ( American, 1898 - 1991 )
- 1937, print 1983
The following is the caption by Elizabeth McCausland accompanying the original 1939 edition of Berenice Abbott's Changing New York publication.
Frank Lava's gun shop was founded in 1850 by Eli Parker. It closed up during the Civil War, but was re-opened in 1870 by ancestors of the present owner. The Lava shop used to do repair work for the police, until the department retained its own armorers. It still does work, however, for the sheriff's staff.
Elizabeth McCausland, caption for “Gunsmith and Police Department,” in New York in the Thirties [former titled: Changing New York], (New York: Dover Publications, Inc., 1973; New York: E.P. Dutton & Company, Inc.,1939), plate 26 (np).
The New York Public Library Digital Collections
Explore the archive of images from Berenice Abbott's Changing New York project at the New York Public Library.
Museum of the City of New York
Learn more about the artist and her work.
National Museum of Women in the Arts
Read a brief biography of Berenice Abbott from NMWA.
NYC LGBT Historic Sites Project
Check out the residence and studio of Berenice Abbott and her partner Elizabeth McCausland.
Museum of Modern Art, New York
View a photograph by Berenice Abbott of the front of Frank Lava's Gunsmith shop.